Embroidery on a Straw Hat

My sister in law gave me an amazing gift – her old embroidery machine! So, with her birthday just around the corner I needed an inexpensive gift for her (our family has firm $10 or less gift rules). I wanted to give her something useful and something embroidered, to show her I really do appreciate the wonderful embroidery machine.

Work In Progress, The first letter is finished. Next I'll trim the excess organza and glue it in place on the hat

Work In Progress, The first letter is finished. Next I’ll trim the excess organza and glue it in place on the hat

I chose a white faux straw summer hat, personalized with her name. I found some interesting tutorials about embroidering directly onto a straw hat. But, that just looked like too many things to go wrong, and I only had one hat.  I decided to embroider the letters individually onto white polyester organza, cut them out, arrange them on the brim, and glue them into place. I picked a black font with a sweet little ladybug sitting on each letter.

I only took one photo of the wip. The glue took awhile to dry, and I had no time to photo the finished hat. It came out fantastic and I think I’ll make one for myself

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

