Simplicity 1613 Review

Pattern Review Simplicity 1613

Collection of knit tops with short or elbow sleeves or sleeveless and different necklines

Collection of knit tops with short or elbow sleeves or sleeveless and different necklines

 

The interesting twist neckline drew me to this pattern. The off-the-shoulder looks are nice, too. I made it for a long weekend in the West Virginia mountains.

It may not be apparent from the photos on the pattern cover, but this top fits quite snugly through the torso. Unfortunately, snug knit torsos make me look like a sausage!! I’m glad I measured the actual pattern pieces before cutting them out. The front and back bodice pieces have a distinct hourglass shape. I don’t have an hourglass shape. I ended up adding a couple of inches to the waist, just enough to skim my torso without clinging snugly.

I used leftover pink activewear knit, originally from Fabric Mart. My piece is suitable for bottom wear, and has a bit of body and firmness to it. The pieces that gather up to wrap around the collar are doubled up (bodice front + facing), adding extra bulk. My fabric  didn’t really want to gather up gracefully, that was a bit of a struggle. I think a lighter weight activewear, or jersey or ITY would work better with this neckline on this pattern. I think the medium weight that I used would be perfect for the off the shoulder looks.

The facings are a little different, both front and back extend from the neck almost to the waist. I’m not sure why the back facing is huge. If you like going braless, you probably have realized that thinner knits can let a little “too much” show through. The large front facing completely covers the chest, so even a thin knit should be opaque enough to wear braless.

The double layer of medium weight knit makes my version a little bit warm for hot summer weather, but I know I’ll wear it often when the weather turns cool.

Simplicity 1613 and embroidered skort

Simplicity 1613 and embroidered skort

Simplicity 1613

Simplicity 1613

Leave a comment

Filed under sewing

Leave a Reply

