Burda Style Shirt with Bat Sleeves 04/2015 #123A

I don’t sew Burda often, but every now and then I find something I can’t resist. This is a fun pattern! The batwing sleeves are all one piece and wrap from the back, over the shoulders to the front and back down to the armpit.

I used a cotton voile from my stash. I wish I’d taken a photo of the uncut fabric, because it’s hard to describe. The stripes run lengthwise down the fabric. The asymmetrical pattern starts at one selvedge, with wide green stripes alternating with narrow white and black stripes. Then, moving crosswise, the next set of bright blue stripes are slightly narrower, then the yellow stripes are narrower still, followed by medium blue stripes that are narrower again, the pattern ends with still narrower aqua stripes.  To get the stripes running horizontally, instead of vertically, I cut the pieces on the cross grain.

I added a wide diagonal band around the neck.

The instructions were clear. The pattern sewed up quickly and easily.  It came out a little longer than I expected. Also, something went a bit amiss, the back is slightly askew.

The voile is a little sheer and crisp, so chances are I’ll be wearing this as a cover up over a tank or swimsuit.

<b>Pattern Description: </b>
Pullover with raglan batwing sleeves

<b>Pattern Sizing:</b>
Misses

<b>Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?</b>
Yes, except it came out longer than I expected

<b>Were the instructions easy to follow?</b>
Yes they were clear and correct

<b>What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?</b>
I like the causal effect from the sleeves. The construction technique is unusual and fun

<b>Fabric Used:</b>
Cotton voile in an asymmetrical stripe

<b>Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:</b>
Added a wide bias band at the neck

<b>Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?</b>
Yes, I would sew it again. And yes I would recommend it

 

Leave a comment

Filed under sewing

Leave a comment